All the hours. I have worked them.

Standard

This is my first day off in ten days. It’s not an uncommon thing for me in my job to have to step up and do overtime when it’s needed; and I never complain. I have done a few ten day plus stints in my time but this one takes the cake. Mmm, cake. I worked just over 100 hours in that ten days (as did some of my colleagues – in fact, everyone did way over their usual hours) and the hard work is really paying off. The company I work for moved our shop into bigger and better premises, just up the street from the shop where we had been based for the last however many years. This meant fitting the new shop, setting up the offices, cleaning the kitchen, packing up the old shop, loading the stock on to the lorry, unloading it at the new shop, sorting out delivery, putting stock away and, of course, setting up the shop floor.

Not only that, but this week is one of the busiest of the year with the rush of people who have left it to the last minute to get their kids’ school shoes before they go back next week. This weekend is going to be manic. But it’s ok. We are a great team and are coping well with the change in location and increased trade!

In other news, David and I are going to look at a house next week. We were meant to go this afternoon but he has been called away for work at short notice. The vendor has kindly agreed to let us see the house one evening which I am so thankful for as getting any extra time off at the moment is going to be nigh on impossible. The house look utterly beautiful and I am very excited. Must remember to be objective, though. It would be far too easy to get carried away with this one!

About Xowie Brandt

Self-discovering, arty, luvvie, tattooed, pierced, vocal, fragile, shy (yes, shy!), determined, caring, loud, quiet, bookworm, filmaholic, music lover, lyric devourer, random, gigglemaniac, cider guzzler, evolving...to name but a few things. I'm a writer, actress, model, photographer and singer and makeup lover. I try not to allow myself to be pigeon-holed into a box, much preferring to tear the required pieces from a multitude of boxes and create something vaguely box-shaped that I can call my own. I'm unique, just like everyone else.

Leave a Reply

