Marketing, movie pitches and whatnot!

Standard

(x-posted from my writing blog)

I have just come off of the phone with my publishing advisor. They sent me an email regarding an AARP conference in New Orleans this September in which I could have my book publicised. Attendance is optional although I have always wanted to visit New Orleans. This seems an interesting opportunity what with around 20,000 attendees.

We also talked about a package called ‘Pitch Fest’ in which I would spend a couple of days in Beverley Hills in July, attend a workshop on pitching my book to film producers and then, in the afternoon, actually pitch the idea to Hollywood.

The other option would be to write a screenplay of the book and have it submitted to a database that movie producers have access to and, potentially, have the rights to the movie optioned.

I’m really not sure what to do. Both? It’s expensive but could be fruitful. I would like more people to read the book – of course! – and know that I haven’t really put any effort into publicising and marketing. Perhaps I should.

I think what has held me back thus far is the fact that there are a few typos in the book. I was told that I could resubmit an edited manuscript but to take down the existing one and get the new version up would cost about £200. It’s my own perfectionism that hates the typos. They don’t get in the way of the story at all; they just bother me.

One thing I know is that I can’t attend both the New Orleans and Pitch Fest events. Air fare would be insane for starters! New Orleans would be the cheaper option and would, hopefully, get more people reading the book.

Pitch Fest would be more expensive and wouldn’t result in more sales of the book, unless it was optioned and then people bought it afterwards.

Any thoughts?

About Xowie Brandt

Self-discovering, arty, luvvie, tattooed, pierced, vocal, fragile, shy (yes, shy!), determined, caring, loud, quiet, bookworm, filmaholic, music lover, lyric devourer, random, gigglemaniac, cider guzzler, evolving...to name but a few things. I'm a writer, actress, model, photographer and singer and makeup lover. I try not to allow myself to be pigeon-holed into a box, much preferring to tear the required pieces from a multitude of boxes and create something vaguely box-shaped that I can call my own. I'm unique, just like everyone else.

Leave a Reply

