Take a moment.

Standard

Yet again it seems that Life has restricted my ability to blog as regularly as I would like. This has both pros and cons.

Pros: One: It means I have a life and am not at risk of becoming an internet hermit. Two: Having said life means that I have things to blog about when I do actually have a moment to snatch and sit at this laptop and write something down.

Cons: One: Life makes me feel lazy when I get down time so I usually find that the time I do have of an evening when I could be writing a quick blog usually is taken up by me staring at my laptop from the comfort of my sofa, willing it with all my Jedi Force to open, switch on and type for me, realising that that isn’t going to happen, and going back to watching TV or reading my book. Two: It means that I don’t blog as much as I would like!

Never mind, though, I’m here now!

It has been another really busy week. I do some voluntary work with an organisation dedicated to people who are in distress and despair and who are feeling suicidal. This has been a jam packed week. I had a shift on Monday straight after work. Then, on Tuesday, I helped out with the training exercises for one of the two groups of new volunteers. I purposely had said that I wouldn’t do the second part of the evening because of what a busy week I had already but I got a text asking if  I would help out with the first part of the evening. Of course I did! I am really glad that I did as it was a lot of fun. I would like to join the training team anyway so, after Tuesday, when I got a message thanking me for helping and saying how impressed the guy in charge of training was with what I did it made me really happy. Wednesday evening was training for me and the group of volunteers who started at the same time as I did and Thursday was spent helping out with the second group of new volunteers, after my day off consisting of housework and copious amounts of laundry!

Needless to say that when Friday rolled around and I didn’t have to do anything after work, I was struggling to stay awake by about 18:50! David had to go to London to work on Friday so I have had a couple of evenings of me time. I had indulged widely in relaxing and getting to know my sofa a bit better, all the while doing the Jedi stare in my laptop’s direction.

So, here we are on Sunday. My day off. Finally, I have found the time to sit down and be here. When David gets home later, we are going to see his Dad. I haven’t met him yet, despite many arranged dates to do so. It’s one of those things that keeps getting delayed for unavoidable, genuine reasons but today is the day. Oh god, I hope he likes me. I’ve said to David before that I was worried that everyone will always, forever, compare me to his ex. I have no idea if that’s actually true. I guess it’s just a silly girly insecurity. But, I am me and she is she. We are not the same. David is happy and that is the most important thing, as far as his friends and family are concerned so our differences shouldn’t, and probably won’t, matter.

In other news, I think I may have found the inspiration I need to get on with my book! I will be blogging about this on my writing blog (my poor, neglected writing blog) shortly. The frustrating thing, and part of the reason that I haven’t done any work on this book for so long, is that the most up-to-date manuscript is stuck on the tower of the PC I was using before. I have no monitor. I can’t get to it without being brave and technological. I’m not. So, I am stuck with access to the second most up-to-date copy, knowing that I have written more and that what I wrote, I really liked. I guess, if I want to finish it (and I do!) I just have to bite the proverbial bullet and carry on. Thankfully, I have the start in my head thanks to seeing a yoghurt in my boss’s lunchbox in the fridge at work the other day. I can always try to work the other bits in once I can get to it, but hey, I may not need to if this gives me the kickstart that I need.

Wish me luck.

About Xowie Brandt

Self-discovering, arty, luvvie, tattooed, pierced, vocal, fragile, shy (yes, shy!), determined, caring, loud, quiet, bookworm, filmaholic, music lover, lyric devourer, random, gigglemaniac, cider guzzler, evolving...to name but a few things. I'm a writer, actress, model, photographer and singer and makeup lover. I try not to allow myself to be pigeon-holed into a box, much preferring to tear the required pieces from a multitude of boxes and create something vaguely box-shaped that I can call my own. I'm unique, just like everyone else.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

